HOME
 
 
Alopecia X -
Information
 

Zwergspitze/
Pomeranians
 

Wolfsspitze/
Keeshonds
 

Andere Rassen/
Other Breeds
 

Links
 

Kontakt/
Contact





eXTReMe Tracker

Alopecia and coat loss in the Keeshond

by Jane Saunders


In a coated breed most owners strive to ensure their dogs have that perfect coat. Today with more emphasis than ever on the amount of coat dogs have it is of concern to owners when their dogs suddenly start to loose coat and even develop patches of alopecia.

Most Keeshond owners are aware of cases of dogs and bitches loosing areas of coat from the thighs. I can remember over 30 years ago being told that the "cure all" was Bob Grass Skincure. This traditional product contains amongst other ingredients sulphur, known for its beneficial effect on skin disorders. There have also been other traditional suggestions such as castrating a dog or allowing a bitch to have a litter. If the coat problem resolved people concluded the "treatment" had resulted in the improvement to coat. There have however been cases of dogs re-growing areas of alopecia with no treatment via surgery or medication.

It is generally understood that coat condition and growth in an otherwise healthy dog is due to some kind of hormone imbalance but it is not fully understood why. There appears to be a greater tendency in certain Spitz breeds. Many owners will immediately think of thyroid deficiency and may request their vet to carry out a simple test for thyroid function. If the result is within the normal range the owner and vet are often left wondering what to do next.

Typical symptoms are thinning of hair or total alopecia in certain parts of the dog’s body. Alopecia is generally bilateral (appearing equally on both sides of the body) and affecting the lateral neck, (area on both sides of the throat), rump, area near root of tail and along the area of the second thigh on back legs. The areas of coat loss around the neck are often thought to be due to friction from a badly fitting collar, as they appear to be where the collar lies. In fact the collar generally has nothing to do with the problem. Coat texture in these areas is often harsher than the remainder of the body and has a tendency to break readily when brushed. There is generally no sign of pruritus (itching) or lesions of the skin of affected dogs.

The skin in these areas tends to become hyperpigmented and darkens in colour from grey pink to black. In Keeshonds this type of coat loss appears to be more common in males although bitches can show the same symptoms.

There have been cases where an affected dog has, for no apparent reason regrown hair on the areas of alopecia and where this has occurred the hyperpigmentation appears to resolve itself. Alopecia may or may not reoccur.
In 1998 a study was commenced by, veterinary surgeons working in the Department of Dermatology at the Royal Veterinary College. The study set out to look at patterns of coat loss in Spitz breeds and sought to gain help from breed clubs of Chows, Samoyeds, Pomeranians and Keeshonds. A number of breeds appear to be susceptible to patterns of coat loss and the department has also carried out studies with Irish Water Spaniels and Miniature Poodles. Breed Clubs were invited to become involved and individual owners requested to submit dogs showing patterns of coat loss or poor coat growth to the department of dermatology at the RVC North Mymms site.

The Survey Methods

Owners of dogs participating in the survey were asked to complete a questionnaire explaining when the coat loss commenced and any links to times of year etc. An outline of a Spitz was provided to illustrate the areas of coat loss. Where possible owners were also requested to send photos to illustrate the dogs coat loss. Some owners visited the Royal Veterinary College with their dogs to enable a range of tests be carried out and others were tested by their own vets using the set protocol provided by the survey. Blood samples were taken and a standard haematology and biochemistry assay completed.
An ACTH test was also carried out testing for cortisol and 17 OHP pre and post stimulation. Dogs were tested for thyroid function with T4 and TSH. Several skin sections were collected both from areas affected by the alopecia and hyperpigmentation and also from an unaffected area to act as a control.
A series of urine samples were subsequently collected by owners and sent to a specialist laboratory for analysis.
During the latter part of 2000 a food study was carried out on a number of dogs as diet has been found to have an effect in others breeds, notably the Irish Water Spaniel. Wafcol provided supplies of their fish and corn complete diet for owners to take part in a fixed period food trial.

Results

Oestradiol (oestrogen) levels were well above the normal reference range in all dogs. Testosterone was within normal range although there was a considerable variation. The TSH levels within these samples were also within normal ranges. T4 levels were within the normal reference range for most. No dogs were hypothyroid.
Urine analysis showed no abnormalities.
All the tested dogs showed elevated 17 OHP levels post stimulation.
The food trial showed a slight improvement in some dogs but none in others. Some owners reported their dogs being unenthusiastic about eating a complete food. One owner has since changed over to the Wafcol Salmon and Potato food and reported significant improvement with the dog now sporting a profuse coat with no signs of alopecia.

Conclusions

The condition is referred to as Alopecia X. (Adrenal Hyperplasia Syndrome) Onset has been found to occur at any age and does appear to be more common in ”plush-coated” breeds such as the Spitz breeds.

It was concluded that the hormonal results of all the dogs showed an increased level of 17 OHP post ACTH stimulation and an increased level of oestradiol (oestrogen). This is a common finding in dogs with this disease. This type of coat loss is now thought to be due to abnormal steroidogenesis (a slightly abnormal adrenal gland function in the pathway of steroid formation such as cortisol). It is not known to what extent the condition in the different breeds is caused by the same hormonal imbalances as the tests showed different patterns in the breeds within the survey. There appears to be a difference between the hormonal imbalance in the Keeshonds and that of other breeds. It is possible that Keeshonds have a mild form of the alopecia that affects Irish Water Spaniels, Miniature Poodles and Pomeranians.

It is likely that coat loss in the Keeshond is affected by a variety of factors including diet and hormones.

Where do we go next?

A drug thought to be suitable for correcting this imbalance has been identified and received its UK licence last year. Trilostane is licensed for use in Cushings disease but has also shown encouraging results when used as a therapy for coat loss.

The drug is considered to be extremely safe to use and to date trials have been carried out on Pomeranians and Miniature Poodles. Results have been encouraging with 90% efficacy in the trial (Cerundolo, personal communication). The drug needs to be balanced carefully and it can take several months to obtain the optimal balance. The initial investigations were funded via a Kennel Club grant to the RVC and this has now ceased. The drug company provided medication for the trial on Pomeranians and Miniature Poodles. For the time being at least, any continuation of the study is “on hold”. It is hoped that it will be possible to recommence work with Keeshonds at some time.

In the meantime it is important to remember that this disease is purely cosmetic and affected dogs are healthy in every other respect.


Acknowledgement

I would like to thank Prof. David Lloyd BVetMed, PhD, FRCVS, Dip ECVD and Rosario Cerundolo D.V.M. Cert. VD, Dip ECVD, MRCVS for involving Keeshonds in the Alopecia X study. I am also grateful to Rosario for his advice and support in the writing of this article.

David Lloyd is Professor of Veterinary Dermatology in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences at the Royal Veterinary College, University of London and Rosario Cerundolo is currently Assistant Professor of Veterinary Dermatology in the Department of Dermatology at the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine.


- --- -

References

Cerundolo R, (1999) "Symmetrical alopecia in the dog": In Practice,21: p 350 – 359

Cerundolo R, (2000) )"Alopecia associated with abnormal steriodogenesis in dogs", Continuing Professional Development - Veterinary Medicine2: p 100-104,

Cerundolo R, Lloyd D.H, Pidduck H.G (1999) "Studies on the inheritance of hair loss in the Irish Water Spaniel" The Veterinary Record. Nov 6; 145(19): p 542- 4

Cerundolo R , Lloyd D.H., McNeil P.H., Evans H, (2000) "An analysis of factors underlying hypotrichosis and alopecia in Irish Water Spaniels in the United Kingdom" Vet Dermatology;11: p 107-122


- --- -


I lived with Keeshonds for 46 years and Show and exhibit and judge in England.

I hold a post graduate advanced diploma in companion animal behaviour counselling and am a member of the Keeshond Club, the North of England Keeshond Club and the Deutscher Spitz Club of Belgium.

I have a particular interest in health and work with several veterinary contacts to further the knowledge of health problems within the breed. I am the health co-ordinator of the Keeshond Club.

© Jane Saunders - August 2002



Main / Keeshonds

HOME

HOME
 
 
Alopecia X -
Information
 

Zwergspitze/
Pomeranians
 

Wolfsspitze/
Keeshonds
 

Andere Rassen/
Other Breeds
 

Links
 

Kontakt/
Contact





eXTReMe Tracker

Alopezie und Haarverlust beim Keeshond

von Jane Saunders


Die meisten Besitzer von Hunden einer Rasse, für die ein reiches und dichtes Fell typisch ist, sind bestrebt, daß ihre Hunde auch ein perfektes Fell vorzeigen. Heutzutage, wo mehr denn je Wert auf die Menge des Fells bei Hunden gelegt wird, beunruhigt es die Besitzer, wenn ihre Hunde plötzlich beginnen, Fell zu verlieren oder sogar stellenweise Alopezie entwickeln.

Den meisten Keeshondbesitzern sind Fälle von Rüden und Hündinnen bekannt, die stellenweise das Fell an den Hinterschenkeln verlieren. Ich kann mich erinnern, wie mir vor über 30 Jahren erzählt wurde, das "Allheilmittel" hierfür sei Bob Grass Skin Cure. Dieses traditionelle Mittel enthält neben anderen Inhaltsstoffen Sulfur (Schwefel), der für seine positive Wirkung bei Hautproblemen bekannt ist. Es gab auch andere Ratschläge, wie den Rüden zu kastrieren oder die Hündin einmal werfen zu lassen. Wenn das Fellproblem verschwand, schlossen die Besitzer daraus, daß die "Behandlung" erfolgreich gewesen war. Jedoch hat es auch Fälle gegeben, wo bei Hunden das Fell an den von Alopezie betroffenen Stellen ohne jede Behandlung wieder nachgewachsen ist.

Es wird allgemein verstanden, daß dieser Fellzustand und -wachstum bei einem ansonsten gesunden Hund durch irgendeine Art von Hormonstörung verursacht wird, aber es ist nicht vollständig klar, weshalb. Bestimmte Spitzrassen scheinen häufiger dazu zu neigen. Viele Besitzer denken sofort an eine Schilddrüsenunterfunktion und bitten ihren Tierarzt, eine Untersuchung der Schilddrüsenfunktion vorzunehmen. Wenn das Ergebnis im Normalbereich liegt, dann sind Besitzer und Tierarzt oft ratlos, was als Nächstes zu tun ist.

Typische Symptome sind die Ausdünnung des Fells oder der vollständige Haarverlust an bestimmten Köperpartien des Hundes. Alopezie ist für gewöhnlich bilateral (an beiden Seiten des Körpers symmetrisch auftretend) und betrifft den Halsbereich, den Rumpf, den Bereich am Rutenansatz und die Rückseite an den Oberschenkeln der Hinterbeine. Es wird oft angenommen, der Haarverlust um den Hals würde durch die Reibung eines schlecht sitzenden Halsbandes verursacht, da er an der Stelle auftritt, wo das Halsband liegt. Tatsächlich hat das Halsband nichts mit diesem Problem zu tun. Die Textur des Fells ist in diesem Bereich oft rauher als am übrigen Körper und es neigt dazu, beim Bürsten leicht zu brechen. Betroffene Hunde haben üblicherweise keinen Juckreiz und keine Hautreizungen.

Die Haut in diesen Bereichen neigt zur Hyperpigmentierung und wird dunkler, von graurosa bis schwarz in der Farbe. Beim Keeshond scheint diese Art von Fellverlust häufiger bei Rüden vorzukommen, obgleich Hündinnen die gleichen Symptome zeigen können. Es hat Fälle gegeben, wo bei Hunden das Fell an den von Alopezie betroffenen Stellen ohne ersichtlichen Grund wieder gewachsen ist, wobei auch die Hyperpigmentierung verschwunden ist. Die Alopezie kann wieder auftreten oder auch nicht mehr.

1998 wurde von Tierärzten der Abteilung Dermatologie am Royal Veterinary College in England eine Studie begonnen. Diese Studie war darauf ausgerichtet, die Muster des Haarverlustes bei den Spitzrassen zu untersuchen, unter der Mithilfe der Rasseclubs für Chow Chows, Samojeden, Pomeranians und Keeshonds. Eine Reihe von Rassen scheint mehr zu dieser Art von Fellverlust zu neigen, und es wurden auch Studien an Irischen Wasserspaniels und Kleinpudeln durchgeführt. Die Rasseclubs wurden zur Beteiligung aufgefordert, und die einzelnen Hundebesitzer wurden gebeten, Hunde, die Fellverlust oder mangelnden Haarwuchs zeigten, für Untersuchungen zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Das Untersuchungsverfahren

Die Besitzer, die mit ihren Hunden an der Untersuchung teilnahmen, wurden gebeten, einen Fragebogen auszufüllen, mit Angaben, wann der Haarausfall begann und mit Hinweisen auf Jahreszeiten usw. Am Umriß eines Spitzes waren die Stellen des Haarausfalls einzuzeichnen. Die Besitzer wurden auch gebeten, wenn möglich Fotos einzuschicken, um die Bereiche des Fellverlustes zu zeigen. Einige Besitzer besuchten mit ihren Hunden das Royal Veterinary College, um an einer Reihe von Untersuchungen teilzunehmen, andere Hunde wurden bei ihrem Haustierarzt anhand der Vorgaben getestet. Es wurden Blutproben für ein Standardblutbild und eine biochemische Untersuchung entnommen.
Ein ACTH-Test wurde durchgeführt, um den Cortisolspiegel und 17-OHP vor und nach der Stimulation zu prüfen. Bei den Hunden wurde die Schilddrüsenfunktion mit T4- und TSH-Tests untersucht. Es wurden mehrere Hautproben entnommen, an den von Alopezie und Hyperpigmentierung betroffenen Stellen, sowie an einer nicht betroffenen Stelle zur Kontrolle. Eine Reihe von Urinproben wurde gesammelt und zur Analyse an ein Speziallabor geschickt.
In der zweiten Jahreshälfte von 2000 wurde bei einer Reihe von Hunden eine Futterstudie durchgeführt, da sich gezeigt hatte, daß die Ernährung bei anderen Hunderassen eine Auswirkung hatte, vor allem beim Irischen Wasserspaniel. Die Firma Wafcol stellte Hundebesitzern ihre Fish and Corn (Fisch und Getreide) Vollnahrung für die Teilnahme an einer Futterstudie über einen festgelegten Zeitraum zur Verfügung.

Ergebnisse

Die Östradiol-(Östrogen)-Werte waren bei allen Hunden weit über dem normalen Referenzbereich. Testosteron war im Normalbereich, obgleich es beträchtliche Abweichungen bei den einzelnen Ergebnissen gab. Die TSH-Werte waren ebenfalls im Normalbereich. Die T4-Werte waren bei den meisten Hunden im normalen Referenzbereich. Keiner der Hunde hatte eine Schilddrüsenunterfunktion.
Die Urinanalysen zeigten keine Auffälligkeiten.
Alle untersuchten Hunde zeigten erhöhte 17-OHP-Werte nach der Stimulation.
Bei der Futterstudie zeigte sich bei einigen Hunden eine leichte Verbesserung, bei anderen gab es jedoch keine Veränderung. Einige Besitzer berichteten, daß ihre Hunde ein Fertigfutter nur ungern fraßen. Ein Besitzer hat inzwischen zur Futtersorte Wafcol Salmon and Potato (Lachs und Kartoffel) gewechselt und über eine bedeutende Verbesserung berichtet, der Hund hat jetzt ein üppiges Fell, ohne Anzeichen von Alopezie.

Schlussfolgerungen

Das Fellproblem wird als Alopezie X bezeichnet. (Adrenal Hyperplasia Syndrome). Es hat sich gezeigt, daß es in jedem Alter auftreten kann, und es scheint besonders bei Rassen mit "Plüschfell", wie es bestimmte Spitzrassen haben, verbreitet zu sein.

Man kam zu dem Ergebnis, daß die Hormonuntersuchungen von allen Hunden erhöhte 17-OHP-Werte nach der ACTH-Stimulation zeigten, sowie einen erhöhten Östradiol-Wert. Dies ist ein häufiger Befund bei Hunden mit dieser Krankheit. Es wird nun angenommen, daß diese Art von Fellverlust durch eine abnorme Steroidproduktion bedingt ist (eine leicht gestörte Nebennierenfunktion, welche die Bildung von Steroiden wie z.B. Cortisol hemmt). Es ist nicht bekannt, inwieweit das Fellproblem bei den verschiedenen Rassen durch die gleichen hormonellen Störungen verursacht wird, da die Untersuchungen unterschiedliche Muster bei den beteiligten Rassen zeigten. Es scheint einen Unterschied zwischen der hormonellen Störung beim Keeshond und der bei anderen Rassen zu geben. Es ist möglich, daß Keeshonds eine leichte Form der Alopezie haben, wie sie bei Irischen Wasserspaniels, Kleinpudeln und Pomeranians vorkommt.

Es ist wahrscheinlich, daß der Fellverlust beim Keeshond durch viele unterschiedliche Faktoren, einschließlich Ernährung und Hormone, beeinflußt wird.

Was ist der nächste Schritt?

Es wurde ein Medikament gefunden, das man für geeignet hielt, diese Störung zu korrigieren, und es wurde im letzten Jahr in Großbritannien zugelassen. Trilostane ist zur Behandlung des Cushing-Syndroms zugelassen, aber es wurden damit auch sehr ermutigende Ergebnisse bei der Behandlung von Alopezie erzielt.

Das Medikament wird als sehr sicher in der Anwendung betrachtet, und bis heute wurden Versuche mit Pomeranians und Kleinpudeln durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse waren mit 90% Erfolgsrate sehr positiv (Cerundolo, persönliche Mitteilung). Auf das Medikament muß sehr sorgfältig eingestellt werden, und es kann mehrere Monate dauern, bis die optimale Dosierung gefunden ist.

Die anfänglichen Untersuchungen wurden mit einer Spende des Kennel Clubs an das Royal Veterinary College finanziert, aber diese Mittel sind nun erschöpft. Die Medikamentenfirma hatte die Medikamente für die Versuche mit den Pomeranians und Kleinpudeln bereitgestellt. Zumindest einstweilig ist jede Fortführung der Studie "auf Eis gelegt". Es wird gehofft, daß es zu irgendeiner Zeit möglich sein wird, die Arbeit mit Keeshonds wieder aufzunehmen.

In der Zwischenzeit ist es wichtig daran zu denken, daß diese Krankheit rein kosmetisch ist und betroffene Hunde in jeder anderen Hinsicht gesund sind.


Danksagung

Ich möchte Prof. David Lloyd BVetMed, PhD, FRCVS, Dip ECVD und Rosario Cerundolo D.V.M. Cert. VD, Dip ECVD, MRCVS für die Einbeziehung der Keeshonds in the Alopecia X Studie danken. Weiterhin danke ich Rosario für seinen Rat und seine Unterstützung beim Schreiben dieses Artikels.

David Lloyd ist Professor für Veterinär-Dermatologie am Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences am Royal Veterinary College, University of London and Rosario Cerundolo ist derzeitig Assistenzprofessor für Veterinär-Dermatologie am Department of Dermatology an der University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine.


- --- -

Quellenangaben

Cerundolo R, (1999) "Symmetrical alopecia in the dog": In Practice,21: p 350 – 359

Cerundolo R, (2000) )"Alopecia associated with abnormal steriodogenesis in dogs", Continuing Professional Development - Veterinary Medicine2: p 100-104,

Cerundolo R, Lloyd D.H, Pidduck H.G (1999) "Studies on the inheritance of hair loss in the Irish Water Spaniel" The Veterinary Record. Nov 6; 145(19): p 542- 4

Cerundolo R , Lloyd D.H., McNeil P.H., Evans H, (2000) "An analysis of factors underlying hypotrichosis and alopecia in Irish Water Spaniels in the United Kingdom" Vet Dermatology;11: p 107-122


- --- -


Ich lebe seit 46 Jahren mit Keeshonds zusammen und bin Ausstellerin und Richterin in England.

Ich habe ein Post Graduate Advanced Diploma in Companion Animal Behaviour Counselling und bin Mitglied im Keeshond Club, im North of England Keeshond Club und im Deutscher Spitz Club of Belgium.

Mein besonderes Interesse gilt der Gesundheit, und ich arbeite mit mehreren Veterinärmedizinern als Ansprechpartnern zusammen, um das Wissen über Gesundheitsprobleme in der Rasse zu erweitern. Ich bin die Gesundheitskoordinatorin des Keeshond Clubs.

© Jane Saunders - August 2002

(Übersetzung: Brigitte Sovonja)


Hauptseite Wolfsspitze / Keeshonds

HOME / Startseite